Artistic Traits – What do creative people struggle with?

I recently read a post by Stephen Brewster on the common traits of successful creative people. Here’s what he lists as some of these traits:

•    Imagination Orientation – Full of ideas and playful. Often drift between reality and fiction but have the ability to be committed.
•    Desperate to be Original – Does not want to be “bound”. Seeks to stretch the limits and withers when micro-managed. Want to do things that no one else has done and is driven by the risk of going first.
•    Motivated – Loves a challenge. Is innovative even in his/her attitude. Has the ability to work hard because of the passion to complete and achieve. Is very goal oriented.
•    Ambitions – Never satisfied. Ever. But does work that attracts attention.
•    Flexible – Problems don’t scare them because they see them as opportunity. These are problem solvers. They see things differently and come up with amazing solutions.
•    Emotionally Charged – They are connected to what they create. They live in the emotion of what they make. One day they will be up. Another, down. But the messier they are, the better work they do. Most good art is created out of angst. Having the ability to find those “places” helps artists do their work, but also leaves them unstable from time to time. The emotional charge also leaves them struggling with security.
•    High Belief – Amazing belief in why they do what they do, and often too much belief in themselves. It’s an interesting balance of insecurity and confidence that creates a pallet for good work to be done.

This reminded me of what I’ve been learning about the heart of an artist. I identify with a lot of these things especially the weaknesses (hello insecurity). I can see my perfectionism in the high standards I set for myself and others. I love to push boundaries and be the first one to come up with the best idea. My internal moods can be chaotic. But it is helpful to know that other people identify with these things too. Someone with an artistic temperament will likely experience higher highs and lower lows than average. It is out of these places that we create – like Stephen says out of angst at times.

It is also helpful to understand these things in order to mature as a person. The better I understand my moodiness or need to feel needed, the better I can compensate for those traits for the sake of others. Rory Noland has an excellent book on The Heart of the Artist. He suggests some spiritual disciplines to help us mature in these areas. For example, to counteract a negative, critical spirit spend time in worship and in solitude with God (Prov 16:23)… Our high standards tend to perfectionism; spending time in community helps to normalise our standards and keep us accountable. I highly recommend his book if you identify with some of the things listed.

Stephen ends his post with this call: “The truth is, we have to lean in to the stuff that makes us better – the stuff that we do that others won’t or are afraid to do, but resist the urge to be…well, a jerk.”

I’m trying not to be a jerk. Let me know how I’m doing.

A fantastic group of artists I know

A fantastic group of artists I know
Image credit: Mark Crampton at subvisuals.com

One thought on “Artistic Traits – What do creative people struggle with?

  1. Thanks for these thoughts on being an artist. I can identify with many of these, especially living in both reality and fantasy, and wanting to start things. Thankfully, I’m also learning how to finish. I made a note of The Heart of An Artist and I’m going to try and find a copy.

    PS. I love the picture, it captures the artistic spirit in community.

Leave a comment